About FCSF

The Friends of Canadian Simmental Foundation (FCSF) is a not-for-profit registered foundation dedicated to scholarship and educational support of youth in the business of agriculture and Simmental cattle. The Foundation is governed by a board of directors who are heavily involved in the Simmental industry and who have a vested interest in educating youth, developing leadership, and encouraging young people to be a part of the agriculture industry.


Scholarships - The FCSF administers scholarships for youth who are involved in Canadian agriculture. Assisting in the development of youth with a focus on advancing their understanding of agriculture is a very important component of the FCSF.

Youth Development - The FCSF supports youth programs such as the Young Canadian Simmental Association (YCSA). The YCSA is one of the most progressive and dynamic agricultural youth organizations in Canada. It is open to anyone 25 years and under who then have the opportunity to participate in various activities across Canada. YCSA members learn important skills including public speaking, marketing and communications which develop strong and dynamic leaders for not only our industry, but society as a whole.

Research and Development - The FCSF is actively engaged in supporting research to benefit the agriculture industry in Canada. This work is focused on improving the Canadian beef industry by enhancing production efficiency, product quality and profitability.

Board of Directors 2020 - 2021

The Board of Directors of the Friends of Canadian Simmental Foundation is comprised of individuals that support the development of the Simmental Breed, youth, education and research in the agriculture sector. The time the devote to the FCSF is purely Voluntary and at their own expense.

Ken Lewis


Term Expires 2022
27115A, Twp Rd 524
Spruce Grove, AB T7X 3M9
Phone: 780-962-5050
Cell: 780-818-3829
Email: lewis@xplornet.com

Brian Bouchard


Term Expires 2022
Box 1409
Crossfield, AB T0M 0S0
Phone: 403-946-4999
Cell: 403-813-7999
Email: labouch@telus.net

Marlin LeBlanc


Term Expires 2022
Box 1476
Estevan, SK S4A 2L7
Phone: 306-634-8031
Cell: 306-421-2470
Email: marlinleblanc@sasktel.net

Deanne Young

Term Expires 2023
Box 577
Breton, AB T0C 0P0
Phone: 780-696-3643
Cell: 780-542-0855
Email: highcountrycattle@gmail.com

Garth Rancier


Term Expires 2023
Box 569
Killam, AB T0B 2L0
Phone: 780-385-2425
Cell: 780-985-5313
Email: rancierfarms@xplomet.ca

Roger Deeg

Term Expires 2024
Box 58, Site 23, RR 1
Strathmore, AB T1P 1K5
Phone: 403-934-4585
Email: rbdeeg@gmail.com

Mark Shologan

Term Expires 2023
10707 – 108A Avenue
Westlock, AB T7P 1C5
Email: markshologan@gmail.com

Glenn Wotten

Term Expires 2024
1761 Little Britain Rd
Little Britain, ON K0M 2C0
Phone: 705-878-1713
Email: elmtreefarms@i-zoom.net

Scott Matthews

Term Expires 2022
7a Montée Lapointe
Canton Hatley, QC J0B 2C0
Phone: 819-993-5187
Email: scottmatthews01@gmail.com


Finance Committee

Ken Lewis, Ron Nolan, Marlin LeBlanc, Brian Bouchard

Scholarship Committee

Deanne Young, Mark Shologan, Glenn Wotten

Auction Committee

Mark Shologan, Deanne Young, Scott Matthews

Make A Donation And Support Youth